I wrote an article on How to live a Zen life without becoming a monk as one of the first entries on this blog. To this day, it is the most popular entry.
I was thinking about joining a Zen community at that point, but somehow I felt right from the beginning, that it was a tacit admission that I could not be alone in my practice. How can we encourage ourselves to practice without striving for a goal? Is the hardship necessary? What is pure practice? If you enjoy your practice apparently that is not pure practice. You should just do it without thinking about yourself and what the practice can do for you.
If you find difficulty in your practice it is proof that there is some sort of mistake in it, which is why we usually need a teacher to encourage us in our discouraging practice 🙂

Check out this little video about “Mistakes in Practice” by Shunryu Suzuki.